To Murder Matt Reviews

What are people saying about the book?

To Murder Matt on Amazon

5 stars Is this the end of Matt?
ByAngel Dust May 8, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition

I read Matt the beginning first, so I had his background before reading this book.
To be honest I was surprised Matt only had Four people waiting to see if he died at the hospital…
Dean, Nico, Ellen, and Veronique have all been caught up in Matt’s web for different reasons, but in the end they discover they all want him dead for one reason….
He is EVIL!
From a Loved race car driver , to a true DEVIL !
It’s fast passed and keeps you wanting to read, but be warned there are some situations that are disturbing, and not easy to read…
I really enjoyed this book and the authors writing style. Looking forward to reading more ..


 

5 stars   Published on Amazon.com
I am extremely glad I decided to read the books in this order
ByBookWormon May 9, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition 

I read To Murder Matt after Matt -The Beginning. I am extremely glad I decided to read the books in this order, and did so on the advice of a friend. It made following the story so much easier for me. On that note, phewwwww, what a read!!!! This is an extremely intense, and at some times, disturrbing and graphic read. At about 83%, I had to put the book down and stop for a few minutes to catch my breath, but then I came back as I was anxious to finish this book! I think you could have made me #5 and added me to the list of people who now wanted to kill Matt. Matt went from a beloved champion race car driver and international playboy to the DEVIL! It’s official I HATE him!!!! Ellen. Dean. Veronique. Nico. Four people want Matt dead and they all have different reasons. Who killed Matt? Viveca did it again with her extraordinary writing and intricate story telling. My husband had to pick my jaw up from the floor. Five stars!!!!! I am hooked, line, and sinker for your books!!!!


“I really liked it. The concept is AMAZING, four people sitting outside a hospital room, all wanting him dead…It’s like if Alfred Hitchcock and Guy Ritchie had a baby … with a splash of Eli Roth, for good scary measure. Matt was the ultimate villain. He meets Ellen, and he’s such a cool guy. He meets Dean, and he’s such a cool guy. But then he becomes more and more twisted, and then BAM! Holy psycho-man! Very interesting to read. A word that came to mind a lot when I was thinking how I would describe this book, was “captivating”. Very, very captivating.”  5*****


This book reminds me of the good days of writers like Harold Robbins and Jackie Collins.  Plenty of things to enjoy, a good storyline, lots of glamour, great sex scenes  (I held my breath for some).  A true beach bonkbuster that will have you panting for more.  A perfect and intelligent read!  5*****


Good job on your first book! I have beta read quite a few books in the last few months, and most of those authors had already self-published several books, and I gotta be honest, your book is far better than a lot of theirs – story content is surprisingly lost on a lot of people. 5*****


You kept me interested right until the end. Great characters, a surprising plot, even better twists and the way the story weaves everywhere. It shocked me right out of my seat at times. I couldn’t second guess you and some of the moments had me smiling, some squirming and some crying a quiet tear. Kudos. — 5*****

An intricate and interesting twisting Plot full of turns and surprises with rich characters that held me captive until I finished the book.  The book takes you from the start right through to a climactic ending. Please tell me you will write a sequel!   I want to keep reading about them.  Breathtaking. 5*****


Good on you for being daring enough and brave enough to write a story like this! 5*****

I imagine it was difficult to write, I applaud you on it and am glad you put it (difficult issues) in there. I loved, loved, LOVED the ending – all them trying to kill him, not realizing they were all trying at the same time. Almost like a Greek play, or a farce, or something. 311 x A4 pdf pages, and I read it in just three days (I had to work, so that slowed me down.), so it was definitely a book I had trouble putting down. I will be very interested in reading Matt’s story!

_______________________________________________________________________
Bloody Brilliant 15 May 2014

By Victoria  5*****
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was recommended by a friend to pick up the book and I can assure anyone who is interested in buying the book it is *well* worth the buy. I was not disappointed. The book is exquisitely written and my reasoning is simple: It is bloody brilliant! ( excuse my French). I initially started the book thinking I’d read a couple of chapters and slowly work my way to the end but I ended up reading the entire thing in one go! (( Who needs sleep anyway?))**Overview of the Book
Viveca Benoir writes in the perspective of four protagonists, Ellen, Dean, Veronique and Nico that are all linked together by one person, Matt Mellor. Each have their own story to play and are affected by Matt’s twisted ways differently. By the end of the book, I guarantee that you’ll loathe Matt but I’m not going to explain why. I think it’s more important that you find out why!The plot of the novel is intricate, where sensitive issues is handled with such delicacy. The story, itself, keeps you second guessing as to what is going to happen continually and then something unexpected happens! The novel starts off with Matt in hospital, hanging on by the brink of life where four people are secretly hoping he dies. The story then begins to explain how each person meets Matt and eventually (SEMI-SPOILER) entwined them together that their paths meet and leads the reader back to the current scene of sitting in a hospital room.The character development in the book progressively gets better as you individually start to understand their flaws and their personalities. I think consistency in the characters development is important. Now occasionally, I did feel some explanations of the characters decisions did not match up to what I’d expect them to do but I certainly didn’t think any less of the book because of it. I got so involved with the characters decisions, I’d be face palming when they made a mistake and simultaneously cursing at their stupidity to the extent that I had a couple of odd glances. All I can say is my facial expressions must have been priceless! It really does absorb you in.The book is very graphic, and although excellently described, I would not recommend this for the faint hearted or those squeamish when reading erotic/sensitive topics. It gets very detailed at parts so just a heads up! After all, it themed erotica. However, this is not your average bonk book and I do believe the amount of time and quality has really paid off.I’d rate this book 9/10. Well done Viveca, I can’t wait to read the sequel!

________________________________________________________________________

Holy Thrill Ride, Batman! 15 May 2014 5*****

By Jennifer – Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
I read this book over the course of about three days – but only because work got in the way. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book quite like it.The book is four twisting plot lines coming together – Veronique, Ellen, Dean, and Nico. One loves the other, but the other loves someone else, and that someone else is struggling with someone else. Some of them have never met, some of them have known each other forever. All will be ripped apart. The tie that binds them in the end – Matt. An ultimate villain. At first, you want him, but by the end, you’re trying to think of ways to murder him, too.Definitely an intense read. The subject matter isn’t for the faint of heart, but things like that need to be written because things like that happen in the real world.It would make for an interesting movie – I kept imagine Danny Elfman music as the soundtrack.It’s a fast paced book, so despite the intensity of it, it isn’t a difficult read.I will definitely be looking forward to reading Matt’s book!

Published on Goodreads. 5*****

To Murder Matt
by Viveca Benoir (Goodreads Author)

33484797

BFDU‘s review

Apr 15, 15

 

Four people.Ellen.
Dean.
Veronique.
Nico.
Bound together.
They will be forever changed.
They will be forever damaged.But they have one thing in common.
One goal.
One need.
One desire.

To seek revenge on the one man who has destroyed each and every one of them.

They want to murder Matt.

Matt.
A monster.
A psychopath.
A deranged maniac.
He hurts people for fun.
He seeks enjoyment from it.
He loves the power.
He will never let anyone or anything stand in his way.
He will destroy those emotionally, physically and psychologically that get in his path.
He will take and take until there is nothing left.
He will have it all.

This is their story.

A story about the lengths a man will take to get what he wants.
A story about a monster.
A story about how four people will forever be entwined.
A story about strength.
A story about survival.
A story about hope.
A story about love.

As bloggers/readers every so often we come across a novel that attracts us based purely on the controversy it causes. You see this book is being banned.

We believe as avid readers ourselves that each and every single book written should be given a fair chance. It should be given a chance to be read by fellow readers/book lovers.

To Murder Matt is definitely not for the light-hearted. It’s content is extremely raw, hard, explicit and quite graphic. And to be honest at times quite disturbing. It covers a number of disturbing topics and taboo subjects.

But as a reader we chose to read it, and we absolutely loved it. Yes it was an extremely hard read, but it was written in such detail and depth we simply couldn’t put it down.

To remove a novel we believe is taking the rights away from readers who should be given the choice to read or not to read. We are definitely firm believers that every author should be given a fair go in this industry.

To Murder Matt…..Is a read for everyone…Absolutely not, but let readers be given the choice to pick it up, not just simply remove it from sale.

To Viveca Benoir thank you so very much for giving us such an emotional, hard, raw, gritty and hard read. The subject matter at times, we found highly disturbing, but again, never once did we feel as though we couldn’t continue on with it.

We absolutely loved, loved it.

For us a definite 5 star read

________________________________________________________________________

Wow, The tagline is totally accurate 15 May 2014 5*****
By jf – Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
Reading this book make you hate the main character and empathize with the ones wishing dead. Great read. When you read this book be ready to go on a roller coaster of your emotions.

_________________________________________________________________________

Published on Barnes & Noble. 16th May 2014 5*****

WOW, WOW. I was made a hostage to this book.  Wow.

WOW, WOW. I was made a hostage to this book.Wow, what a crazy ride that was. I laughed, I cried and I loved Matt, then I HATED him. HATED him.  WHAT A PSYCHO!!
I have a (secret) crush on Nico, although I didn’t like him at the beginning.
I wanted to slap Ellen for being so god damn stupid. Why can’t she see the obvious? Dean is sweet, sexy sweet.  Veronique is the woman we all thought we would want to be, until you find out what she has been through. This is a book that makes you think as you go along, it draws you in.  When you get past the first few chapters you get lost in there.
The world disappears and they become real.  I thought I knew what would happen, but I never did. I was continually surprised. I normally take weeks to read a book, but I honestly couldn’t put it down.  It went so fast. I actually didn’t want to finish the book.
When are the next books coming out?
The author page says there are more books coming, when? How long do we have to wait??  It’s a book that grabs you. I read the other reviewer here and I agree with them.  What a great movie it would make.  There is graphic sex, and boy, it grabs you by the throat and takes you right there. I had to read through, with my hands over my eyes, it was like watching a horror film. I didn’t want to be there.
The writer and the characters don’t let you go until you reach the end.  Such a great story. THE BEST.  What an end.  WOW. WOW. WOW.
_________________________________________________________________________
PUBLISHED on GOODREADS  on 17th May 2014  4****
I’ve given a lot of thought as to whether to review this book or not as there were a couple of scenes that troubled me in it, and one extremely heartbreaking scene. I’ve spoken to the author and decided I will review it.This book deals with abuse, both of a child and an adult. It contains graphic descriptions. The author hasn’t written it to titillate, but to increase awareness that this does happen, and there’s a really good section at the back of the book showing you where to get support if you’re in one of these situations.I don’t think this book needed a couple of the scenes, I didn’t need that detail and without them I’d probably have given it five stars, but that’s a personal opinion. I fully understand the authors reason for including them and support her in that.Because it’s graphic it meant at times it was hard to read, it’s not an easy book, but it’s worth pushing through the difficult areas because it’s a bloody good story.

It starts in a hospital waiting room, Matt is in a serious condition and in the waiting room four people wait to see if he will live or die. Each of them has a damned good reason for wanting him dead. The idea behind it is brilliant, the synopsis captured me from the start as this was a book I wanted to read. Through the book we learn why they want him dead. I think it’s safe to say this is the first bad guy in a book I wished dead too. Normally when I read dark books there’s some spark there that just maybe the bad guy could be redeemed. There’s absolutely no trace of this in Matt. He’s vulgar, cruel, vicious and evil. And that’s probably being generous. Two of the characters suffer abuse at his hands, and it’s hard to read, but they are strong, well written characters who have an inner strength that eventually wins out.

I pushed through the scenes that upset me, (you could always skip a few pages) because the story itself had me gripped. I needed to see this through. The last few chapters of the book were excellent, the pace of the book increasing the nearer you get to the incident that results in the hospital scene at the start. You could feel the tension building as you turned each page. Each person has a reason for wanting him dead, and in some ways it’s almost farcical how Matt seems to evade it. It would make a brilliant movie in that respect.

The final few chapters were excellent, and I’ll admit the ending caught me by surprise, I hadn’t expected it to go quite so far, but what a delicious twist. It’s not a cliffhanger, it’s got a great ending, and if you can handle the detail it’s a really good read.

I’ll be honest, a lot of readers will not like some of the scenes. Just remember that it’s written to educate, not titillate. You can skim past those bits, and it’s worth doing. It’s a story I’ve not read before, it’s fresh and original and will leave you at the end with a feeling of ‘wow, that was an experience’.

_________________________________________________________________________

Published on: http://isalovesbooks.blogspot.co.uk – Saturday, 24 May 2014

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
I was gifted this book by the author in exchange of an honest review.

Well, I firstly have to say, this is not my usual reading material, I didn’t know what to expect at first, when I started the book there were so many interlacing characters it was a bit of information to take in at first, but slowly the story starts to flow nicely, there are several characters in this story and I have to applaud the writer for her smooth transitions and individuality of each personality, through the pages each and everyone started to take form and the plot went into a very engrossing mode, every time taking you through each of their lives, lives which are joined in passion, betrayal, deceit, desire and ultimately love, It had me on the edge of my seat!!
The book deals with many sensitive aspects of life, abuse, incest, rape etc, however all are necessary to make it into the book it is, its very well written and if this is Viveca’s debut novel I think she will become one of my favourite writers and one to watch!

A gripping story, but one I totally recommend. 5stars.

_________________________________________________________________________
PUBLISHED on GOODREADS

 Debbie‘s review   5stars

Jun 03, 14

Read in May, 2014
This book was very good, truthfully blew me away. I must admit there were a few scenes within the story that were a taboo as you say. That didn’t put me off just made the story different to what I normally read. I was gripped from the beginning of this book found it very hard to put down at night, eyes were pried open when I was too tired just so I could read to the end of the chapter…
Defo recommend this, its flipping awesome, cant wait to read another one of your books Viveca x

________________________________________________________________

Published on AMAZON

3***   Reviewed by Stacey for Kelly’s kindle konfessions, 28 Jun 2014
This review (Excerpt) is from: To Murder Matt (Kindle Edition). 
I must give the author props for creativity and planning. There are four different characters who are all out to murder Matt for his wicked ways, each for both their own reasons and shared reasons. It took a lot of organizing and plotting on the author’s part to bring these characters not only into each other’s lives, but also into Matt’s web. Cohesively and in a way that was somewhat feasible. And Matt…
If ever Satan walked this Earth, it is in the form of Matt Mellor. I’m not sure I have ever read a more sickening, despicable character… And I read true crime from time to time. The author threw in the most vile, inhumane characteristics she could think of when creating this rat bastard, making it easy to understand why any one of his many victims would want him dead. It was so bad that I had a hard time deciding who deserved the satisfaction of killing him the most. And I was DYING for someone to kill him.
In the beginning, you find out that someone has tried to kill him, but you don’t find out whether or not the attempt was actually successful until the end. All the in-between details the reasons why he deserves to die the most excruciating death two times over. Ms. Benoir was definitely successful in creating a most hated villain.
**WARNING**
The book was full of naivety and stupidity that, I would hope, is an over-exaggeration in comparison to the general human race. If not, procreation may need to be regulated based on these factors in the future.
**NOTE** My favorite part of the book was the author’s message at the end. Though the events in this book were disturbing, they do happen in real life. A victim is a victim and not at fault for the things that happen to them. Even the smartest of us aren’t above being duped at some point, especially by a master of manipulation such as Matt. I thought it was great that Ms. Benoir ended the book with words of support and encouragement for abuse victims everywhere.
My intent with this review is not to discourage readers—it is to have them better informed about the “graphic” and “taboo” content. A writer’s book is a work of art and a part of him/her, and there is always someone out there who is going to be a fan. Though I did not enjoy the darker, disturbing aspects of this story, it does not mean that others will not as well. This book broaches ugly truths that some readers may find offensive.
**NOTE** There is a CENSORED version of this book available on Amazon that states two of the “taboo” scenes were omitted. Reading that version might be more suitable for the less “broadminded” readers. However, it does cost over a dollar more.
(NOTE FROM AUTHOR – The price difference is an Amazon error. Thank you. Will contact them now).
______________________________________________________________
Published on AMAZON  5*****
Gritty, memorable read. Fabulous!, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase
This review is from: To Murder Matt (Paperback)
I read this book greedily from start to finish. Really good gritty read which I couldn’t put down. Chapters presented following each character without me loosing interest in them when switching to another. When is the next one out please!?
________________________________________________________________
Published on Barnes & Noble  5*****
This review is fromTo Murder Matt (Paperback)
OMG! OMG! WHAT A GREAT BOOK!!! I just finished it. I had to leave a review!!! GIVE ME MORE OF THIS AMAZING WRITER!!! Just the best book I have ever read. It’s gritty, real, DARK, very DARK. It’s life. REAL life. Every page turns itself. I couldn’t stop reading. My eyes burned into the pages and I put my whole life on hold, so I could finish it in one sitting. This is a unique book, I have never read anything like it. It’s AMAZING, full of twisting plots, great characters, and as long as you hang in there, everything is answered, all your questions. I couldn’t believe the ending. I do want more books by this writer. And it would make an amazing movie. WOW. AM still blown away!!!! MORE OF THE SAME PLEASE.
_______________________________________________________________
Published on Amazon  4****
 
A dark and twisted tale… With a live story interwoven,
Published – September 30, 2014
This review is from: To Murder Matt (Kindle Edition)

This is definitely not a book for the faint of heart. It covers topics such as rape, murder, incest and abuse in a serious, not sensationalist way. The author being an educator and sensitive also contains contact numbers within her book for anyone affected by such matters.This book starts at a hospital with Matt in critical condition and leads us from the past up to this current point via interweaving the lives of Ellen, Dean, Veronique and Nico via their pov, all who are connected via the charismatic Matt, ex racing driver and currently wealthy playboy. This cunning, handsome and successful man is the devil in disguise whom you learn more about throughout the book. The two women in this book showed such strength and fortitude I was in awe of them and thought their tragedies were handled well.

This is a darkly disturbing read, but also shows what truly happens in reality when obsession overwhelms a person, their drive knows no limits or boundaries and that looks can truly be deceiving. The ending was fitting and left you with a little bit of uncertainty, thinking can all events ever be fully forgotten?

 _________________________________________________________________

Published on Amazon  5***** out of 5 stars This is a Crazy Ass Must Read!!!!!, October 29, 2014 By  CDBW “CrazyDaisyBookWhore” (Emmaus, PA) –

This review is from: To Murder Matt (Kindle Edition)

5 Crazy Ass Stars!!!!!Wow! That is some seriously crazy ass Shiznits! I want to murder Matt after reading this. I will not ruin with spoilers. This is a Crazy Ass Must Read!

Warning: There are very controversial and touchy subjects in this book. If you are bothered by theses subjects in any way shape or form, this not a book for you. Don’t leave a nasty review, just walk away from hitting “buy now” and search for another book. Remember: To each his own. However, if you are not bothered by these subjects, grab it now. You won’t be disappointed!

 _________________________________________________________________

Published on Goodreads  5***** ou

This review is from: To Murder Matt (Kindle Edition)

5*****  5 of 5 stars 

To Murder Matt
by Viveca Benoir (Goodreads Author)

13089583

Akd‘s review

Jan 28, 2015
4-1/2 Holy craptastic, what did I just read…
So. This novel takes you on the wildest ride. EVER.
I will not give anything away because this one needs to be savored. Let me just say, if you are looking for a read with a villain you will love to hate…look no further! And I wouldn’t exactly say you will hate Matt. No. It’s more a morbid fascination with a man that is, let’s say, rather sociopathic.
Pick this one up if you love dark reads with lots of twists and turns. You will not regret!

Firstly this is a fantastic debut novel by this author.

This dark and graphic story has a unique storyline. Matt is critically ill in hospital. This is the story of the four people waiting outside his room. Each of these people want him dead for their own reasons. The author has done a great job of portraying how bad Matt is.
This book is not for the faint hearted. It’s a really dark and twisted read. Rape, murder and abuse are all parts of the storyline.

I’ve read hundreds of books this year. This is only one of a handful that took me a few days to read. It took me time to absorb.

If you like dark and gritty then I certainly recommend this story.


Published on Goodreads  Nov 09, 2014

How can four lives be changed by one person? This book tells the sordid tale of how one retired racecar driving playboy changed four people’s lives with love, lies and deception at every turn. The book begins with a scene in a hospital waiting room. Dean, Ellen, Nico and Veronique are all there to find out is Matt will survive. As the four people reminisce to themselves about how each met Matt, you realize what a sinister person he really is. There are a couple of scenes that are alittle dark and hard to read. The writer helps ease the uneasiness by encouraging the reader to want to figure out if one of them did try to kill him and if the bastard does die in the end.
A suspense novel with a villain who seems handsome and sexy at first but is as lethal as a viper in the lives he comes in contact with. Good descriptions of the characters and a different plot I hadn’t read in a while. 3.5 stars

To Murder Matt
by Viveca Benoir (Goodreads Author)

34498804

Michelle‘s4 of 5 stars 16th February 2015
bookshelves: book-covers-i-love

Read from February 13 to 16, 2015

 

Wow. This was such an intense novel. It started out a little slow but once things started happening, the drama and suspense and action and insanity didn’t stop till the very end. I liked the way this book was written although some scenes were graphic and one very, very sad one that broke my heart. There were some really passionate and beautiful moments too of course. The book starts out interestingly; four people are in a hospital waiting to hear if this man who has affected each one of their lives immensely, is going to live or die. And my god the journey leading up to this point is certainly an intense and rocky as hell roller coaster. The individual character development was interesting to see as well. My opinions on them either became more and more positive (the group of four) or negative (Matt!). And it was a real thrill ride this novel!


Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s